…blogging is free

Starting Over

I just unpublished every post on this blog all the way back to it’s inception in 2007. My summer break will in part be used to sort through, edit, and republish some of those posts. Others will never return. My goal is to reassess what is mine to share and what belongs to others.

I’m a mother who relinquished a child at birth. It’s important to share my story, birth parent voices have been silenced for so long. I got lucky and have a wonderful successful open adoption which makes me a perfect advocate for reform. It’s harder to dismiss me as “bitter” (although not impossible). But no one lives in a vacuum and thus we need to be careful about only sharing the part of the story we own especially when the other owner is a child who has had absolutely no say in being a part of the story nor in the sharing of the story.

Comments on: "Starting Over" (5)

  1. So extremely hard. I struggle each time I write something as to whether it’s my story to share. I know I’m imperfect with this, I wonder sometimes if I’m making mistakes in what I share, but I also feel like it’s so important that stories like ours are told. I hope you find a balance and are able to still share because you were one of those voices I found early on that helped me so much in finding my own path.

    • KatjaMichelle said:

      It is such a balancing act and it’s a weird process to go back and read what i wrote as far back as 2007. I’m sure I’ll find my footing and it’ll get easier to decide what to keep and what to edit and what to just trash but right now it’s just wierd

  2. carolynsocialworker said:

    Best of luck with your editing (had me confused there for a minute, I must tell you :-) ) and congratulations on finishing your first year as a Ph.D. student!!!! Way to go!

    • KatjaMichelle said:

      Thanks, It’s definitely a slow process but i think it’ll be good in the end…and that goes for both the phd and the blog editting :)

  3. […] Therapy Is Expensive […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 422 other followers

